This is the "Other Local Resources" page of the "Research Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Center  

A guide to the Research Center at the Chicago History Museum, including hours, access, policies, etc.
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.chicagohistory.org/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Other Local Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chicago Public Library

The Harold Washington Library Center of the Chicago Public Library is at 400 S. State St. Its Municipal Reference Collection has holdings on Chicago's government and communities. Its Special Collections Department has holdings on both the 1893 and 1933 world's fairs, Chicago neighborhood histories, and more.

 

Libraries & Archives

Researchers may wish to consult these other libraries and archives as well.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Holdings for Cook County and the City of Chicago are at Northeastern Illinois University's Ronald Williams Library. These collections aren't in the library's catalog, so researchers need to search the Local Government Records Database.

The Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection
At the Woodson Regional Library of CPL. Strong focus on African American history in Illinois. The collection includes original manuscripts of Richard Wright and the papers of Robert S. Abbott, founder of the Chicago Defender.

National Archives at Chicago
Historical records from 1800 to the 1990s for the Midwest, including genealogical resources.

The Newberry Library
Independent research library noted for its genealogy and local history resources.

Northside Neighborhood History Collection
At the Sulzer Regional Library of CPL. Focusing on North Side neighborhoods, this collection includes the Ravenswood-Lake View Community Collection as well as other neighborhood histories.

 

Chicago Collections

The Chicago History Museum is a member of Chicago Collections. Search Explore Chicago Collections to search Chicago holdings across member institutions.

 

Black Metropolis Research Consortium

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip