The Chicago Race Riots of 1919 were violent conflicts that occurred after a Black teenager drowned and a white man was arrested, sparking tensions between African American and white communities. The conflict lasted several days, resulting in injuries, deaths, and extensive property damage. The events revealed the racial divisions and systemic racism of the time, prompting increased activism for racial justice and emphasizing the ongoing need to address inequality and promote social justice.
The Hyde Park Protective Association records collection is the main archival collection on this topic; other resources on the Race Riots of 1919 include the following: an extensive photograph collection (showing the aftermath of the uproar) and several books that address the racial inequality rampant during this time.
The 1968 Democratic Convention protests were a series of demonstrations and clashes between anti-war activists and police that occurred during the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago. Thousands of protesters gathered to voice their opposition to the Vietnam War, racism, and other social issues. The Chicago 7 were activists that were charged with conspiracy and incitement to riot after protests at the 1968 Democratic National Convention. They symbolized the era's social and political conflicts, advocating against the Vietnam War. The trial, known for its controversies, showcased tensions between protesters and authorities. The Abakanowicz Research Center (ARC) houses several archival collections and photograph collections related to the 1968 Democratic Convention and the Chicago 7, highlighting in the history of protest movements and free speech rights.
The Haymarket Affair took place in the aftermath of the Haymarket Square riot in Chicago in 1886. Eight individuals were charged with inciting violence conspiracy. The trial resulted in controversial convictions, with four defendants sentenced to death and others receiving prison terms, sparking debates on labor rights and civil liberties. The trial transcripts and other materials relating to this event exists in the Illinois vs. August Spies et al. Haymarket Affair trial transcript collection. The ARC has numerous other resources on the Haymarket affair as well as a more in depth bibliography, which is available upon request.
Otto Kerner Jr., former Governor of Illinois and a federal judge, was convicted for accepting bribes during his tenure of Governor. This case highlighted political corruption at high levels. His career was marred by a bribery scandal, resulting in his conviction in 1973 for accepting bribes during his tenure. Here are a few collections that the Abakanowicz Research Center (ARC) houses: the Geringer family papers, the Otto Kerner Jr. letters, the Chicago Teachers' Federation papers, and a couple of photograph collections.
Paul Powell was a former Secretary of State of Illinois, and he was involved in the "Shoe Box Scandal", in which large amounts of cash (estimated $800,000) were found in his residence after his death in 1970. The scandal raised concerns about corruption and led to investigations into Powell's financial activities, exposing a culture of corruption within Illinois politics. The Shoe Box Scandal serves as a reminder of the importance of transparency and integrity in government and remains a notable episode in Illinois political history. There is one book in the ARC detailing the scandal in depth. A search in the Chicago Sun-Times, or any of the other newspaper databases available onsite in the ARC, will lead you to many articles on the topic.
William Hale Thompson, mayor of Chicago from 1915 to 1923 and again from 1927 to 1931, was known for his involvement in political corruption, including allegations of graft. bribery, and alliances with organized crime figures. His administrations faced scandals related to election fraud, kickbacks, and abuse of city contracts, while his discriminatory policies and divisive rhetoric further marred his legacy. Although Thompson was never convicted of corruption, his tenure highlighted the challenges of addressing corruption in urban politics and perpetuated a negative perception of Chicago as a city plagued by political misconduct.
There are several items on this public figure, including archival collections, books, and photographs that discuss Thompson's role in politics. The Chicago Sun-Timesdatabase is a great source as well, available onsite in the ARC.
The following list represents some of the most notorious crimes and criminals in Chicago history, from mob bosses and political scandals to serial killers and Chicago "firsts." The amount of material available in the research center for each of these cases varies widely. For some of these, you'll find more material on the topic outside the museum. For these, see the section on Online and Other Local Resources. The research center also has more in-depth bibliographies on some of these cases. When noted that a bibliography does exist, simply send us an email at research@chicagohistory.org and we will send along a copy.
CONTENT WARNING:
Some of the content in this section discusses heinous acts of violence and sexual assault, which may be distressing or triggering. Please prioritize your well-being while engaging with this topic. If you wish to avoid this language, skip over this section of the research guide.
Jeffrey Dahmer (also known as the Milwaukee Killer) was an American serial killer who murdered and dismembered 17 young men and boys in Milwaukee during the 1980s and early 1990s. His heinous crimes shocked the nation, leading to his eventual capture and imprisonment.
While the Abakanowicz Research Center (ARC) doesn't have a lot of information relating to Dahmer, he did have a Chicago connection as he was known to scout for victims at bars in the area. A search in the Chicago Sun-Times, available onsite in the research center, will lead you to many articles on the topic.
John Wayne Gacy, the "Killer Clown", was an American serial killer and rapist who operated in the Chicago area during the 1970s. He murdered at least 33 young men and boys, many of whom he buried in the crawl space of his home, and was eventually caught, convicted, and executed for his crimes.
The ARC holds Rob Warden's collection, comprising court documents, crime reports, personal correspondence, and other material on death row inmates like John Wayne Gacy. Warden, a former editor/publisher of Chicago Lawyer magazine, focused on injustice in murder investigations, death penalty trials, judges, and prosecutorial misconduct in Illinois. The research center also holds several photographs of Gacy.
Herman Webster Mudgett, famously known as H. H. Holmes, was a notorious American serial killer who operated during the late 19th century. He is believed to have murdered as many as 200 people, mostly young women, in his “Murder Castle” in Chicago, a hotel he had built specifically for the purpose of committing these crimes. The ARC has this photograph and several books about this first serial killer of Chicago. A bibliography is also available upon request.
Ted Kaczynski (the “Unabomber”) was an American domestic terrorist who conducted a mail bombing campaign that spanned nearly two decades from the late 1970s to the mid-1990s. He targeted universities, airlines, and other institutions, killing three people and injuring more before he was finally caught and sentenced to life in prison.
The Terry Marker papers collection is held here in the ARC , which contains correspondence to Terry Marker from David Kaczynski, the Community Foundation, and the Unabomber survivors fund, and one copy of Mad Genius, a book about the Unabomber by Lance Morrow. Kaczynski recently passed away on June 10, 2023.
Nathan Freudenthal Leopold Jr. and Richard Albert Loeb were two wealthy young men who kidnapped and murdered a 14-year-old boy in Chicago in 1924, to prove their intellectual superiority and commit the "perfect crime." They were eventually caught and convicted, and their case became notorious for its brutality and the shocking nature of the killers.
The ARC has several collections relating to the case, including the Nathan F. Leopold papers, which are made of his personal papers including correspondence with friends, family, attorneys, and prominent individuals to advocate for his parole. Also of note, are the research papers of Hal Higdon, author of Leopold and Loeb : the Crime of the Century (1975) as well as a related collection of photographs. A lot has been written about the duo over the years and the ARC also has many published materials relating to the case as well as a more in depth bibliography on the topic.
William Heirens, was an American serial killer active in Chicago during the 1940s. Heirens murdered two women and a young girl, leaving behind messages written in lipstick at the crime scenes, which earned him the nickname, "The Lipstick Killer". He was eventually apprehended, convicted, and sentenced to life in prison.
The ARC has a collection encompassing correspondence, transcripts, legal documents, a yearbook, a diploma, and various other materials related to William Heirens, the "Lipstick Killer". Notably, the Dolores Kennedy papers on William Heirens case collection includes transcripts of Heiren's confession, a memoir written by Heirens himself, and a book on his case authored by Dolores Kennedy.
John Stone was the first man hanged in Chicago; he was hanged for the murder of Lucretia Thompson in 1840. The ARC houses an archival collection that includes a significant manuscript account detailing the hanging of John Stone during the mayoralty of Alexander Loyd in 1840.
Al Capone was an American gangster who became a powerful figure during the Prohibition era by running bootlegging and gambling operations. He was involved in numerous violent crimes and was eventually brought down by law enforcement for tax evasion.
Archival materials available in the Abakanowicz Research Center (ARC) relating to Capone include a collection of news clippings and the Jacob I. Grossman collection on Al Capone featuring legal papers on the government's case against Capone. Also of note are the Robert I. Randolph scrapbooks (microfilm). Among other things, Col. Randolph was an anti-crime crusader and a member of the "Secret Six," a Chicago committee on crime prevention and punishment, which gathered evidence for the government's case against Capone. Bibliography available upon request.
John Dillinger was a notorious American bank robber during the Great Depression in the 1930s. His short but active criminal career involved violent bank robberies and shootouts with law enforcement. Dillinger was killed by FBI agents outside the Biograph Theater in Chicago, marking the end of the "Public Enemy Era." Here are some print photographs that the ARC holds. Bibliography available upon request.
The St. Valentines Day Massacre was a gang-related shooting that occurred in Chicago in 1929, in which seven members of Bugs Moran’s North Side Gang were killed by rival gangsters led by Al Capone. The massacre was a turning point in the gang wars of the Prohibition era, and it remains one of the most infamous incidents in American crime history.
CHM archival collections on this famous event include: St. Valentine's Day Massacre (Chicago, Ill.) manuscript collection (includes the typed transcript of proceedings of the Cook County Coroner's inquest into the St. Valentine's Day Massacre) and Joseph Edwin Sevick papers (which includes biographical information about a police officer who dealt with this case).
The Black Sox Scandal of 1919 involved allegations that eight members of the Chicago White Sox conspired with gamblers to intentionally lose the World Series against the Cincinnati Reds in exchange for financial rewards. The scandal had a significant impact on baseball, tarnishing the reputations of those eight star players and highlighting the vulnerability of the sport to corruption.
The ARC houses several archival items that are related to the scandal, including Eliot Asinof's notes for his infamous book, Eight Men Out; the ARC also houses photographs of the 1919 Chicago White Sox baseball players and of the 1921 trial.