This is the "Home" page of the "Image Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image Research  

Tips to help researchers best access the thousands of images in the Chicago History Museum's collection
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.chicagohistory.org/photos Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Picture of the Month

Cubs player Tolson, at Wrigley Field in 1926. SDN-065948

 

Photo Store

You can browse our PhotoStore to view images selected by staff from our collection of art, artifacts, and photography. Create and order customized prints and gifts at the PhotoStore.

 

Finding images at CHM

The collection of prints and photographs at the Chicago History Museum contains thousands of images. Among them you will discover postcards of Riverview Amusement Park, photographs of the Chicago Bears playing at Wrigley Field, camera club photographs of Chicago's streets and houses, Infant Welfare Society lantern slides showing turn of the century conditions in the city, and maybe even a picture of your house. This guide will help you navigate this rich resource.

 

Viewing photographs

A portion of our collection of photographs has been digitized and can be viewed through our online catalog, ARCHIE. These include images from the architectural photography of Hedrich-Blessing and  Chicago Daily News images from 1902-33. Some images have been selected for our photo store. Or, to see images of highlights from the 3-D collection of objects owned by the museum, check Collections Online.  But, we have many more collections  that can be viewed only at the Research Center, so we hope that image researchers will plan a visit and take advantage of all the possibilities.

 

If you can't visit us

We hope that you'll enjoy searching our digital collections of photos. However, the majority of our photos remain undigitized, and to see these, a visit to the Research Center is required. Go to our Research Center home page for information on visiting. For those of you who cannot visit, you may want to hire a freelance researcher to make search on your behalf.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip